2006-08-09

very unpretty @ 10:40 p.m.

From an email a colleague working in the HIV section sent to me a few weeks ago:

If we are to elect a new Governor, and I hope we do not, then cutting the small business tax may mean significant chopping going on in the state health department and every other state government office. Funder Guy speculated that maybe 8% of who is here now will still be here then; a worst-case scenario, surely, but some are talking of how Mr. De Vos may privatize so much of what's going on here.

And the wheels of demise have begun to turn. You may recall that my old project is funded by the state, as is a great percentage of the institute's work, but not necessarily my former program's. The House repealed that SBT today in a landslide vote without determining how the 1.9 bill in revenue would be replaced. Should this also be followed by the election of a new governor, the institute and the department of community health among other state departments will be effectively screwed. Pretty much already are in any event because deep and very painful cuts will need to be made to make up that deficit.

Holy shit, I got out just in time, I think. But I really do feel for my poor folk who remain who are left at the mercy of the uncaring republicans.

This will not be pretty. I can only watch.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives