2006-08-06

girly girl emerges @ 8:03 p.m.

Today was a good day.

The girl in me is coming out. She's apparently been in hibernation, what with the frumpiness of working with a bunch of public health policy wonks necessitated. Business casual at the institute meant reeeeeeeeeeeeeeally casual, like you could get away with wearing jeans occasionally during the week with a button down and get away with it. Tennis shoes, even. So, I became accustomed to not really having to dress to impress, and when I did, it could be something from CWC.

And it's not like Lansing was a bastion of hot fashion. Best I could do on my salary was an occasional trip to Lane Giant or CWC.

Ah, but now. -rubs palms salaciously- I work for a law firm. In Atlanta. Butt up against the snooty section of Buckhead. This calls for an entire revamp of the frumpy wardrobe, stat. Man Unit and I have been shopping fools this weekend, due in part to the tax-free event that ran Friday through today. We started at a mall in Kennesaw Friday night because not only was Macy's doing the crazy sale, but there was a Torrid there as well and I needed a pair of hot jeans that I could wear on casual Fridays.

I nabbed a pair to try on and they were perfect. Made Man Unit's eyes go all wide when I turned to show him mah booty. Heh. Then it was on to Macy's. Because of someone's leftover mail (previous tenants of the house), we'd gotten a marketing circular for new scents. We instantly feel in love with DKNY's Be Delicious and he renewed his affection for Armani's Acqua di Gio, so our first stops were the fragrance counters. Yum. Then down for a couple of RL pillows because his have gone flat. Then to the women's section (a nice way of saying FAT GIRLS CLOTHES ARE HERE) to look for a top I'd seen online.

Here's where I become annoyed.

If you've ever been in a Macy's clothing section, you know that it is strategically arranged. Thumping music, well-placed halogen lighting, fabulous displays. So I'm wandering around in the gigantic petites area and I finally ask a sales chica where's the women's section? She points, see that elevator back there? Take it down, go down the hall and it's on the right. It's not even on the same floor as the rest of the female clothing? Fine, okay. We go down and I feel like I've just walked into Sears. It's butt up against the children's section, all the clothes are squeezed together in about half the space that's needed and it's lit like Wal-Mart. I am seething, but find a couple of tops for less than half what they originally were priced at. Like, hide the fat chicks in the basement corner so they won't scare off the real customers. BAH. Macy's won't be getting any more of my cash, you can bet on that. Stopped at the Gap where Man Unit found some awesome jeans and a great shirt.

Dinner at Sonic to ensure my fat chick status then home to let the Freak unit out. We took a break Saturday and today it was out to the closest mall to find shoes, specifically athletic to replace those we'd had to leave behind. I think we hit at least three different places like Foot Locker and such. Huzzah! Success! Three pairs of kicks later we were strolling along when I saw an -GASP- Ashley Stewartstore. In I zipped and once I was done, I was a pair of pants, a beautiful top, 4 pairs of sexy assed panties and necklace/earring set happier. Now, these are the people that will continue to get my money.

When I modeled everything for Man Unit upon our arrival home, he couldn't do anything but squeal like a fanboy. -smirks-

Hunger happened, so we hightailed to a place I'd wanted to try near my office called the OK Cafe. It should be called the OMG Cafe. The line to wait was out the door so we decided on take away. Sweet baby jeesus. There is no way in hell I'm going to be anything but a fat chick in this town. Since we were within hollerin' distance of my office, I thought I'd show Man Unit the digs. His jaw is still hanging.

How did you not shit your pants when you saw this for the first time?

Because I'd probably just taken a shit and there wasn't anything left, that's how.

I'm your bitch now, aren't I?

So home we came and dined like idiots on the bounty from OKC. It was like Sunday dinner at yo' mama's house. BBQ pork. Mac and cheese. Wings. Fresh corn from the cob. Chicken fried steak with country gravy. Green beans. Cabbage. Cornbread dressing. I still got puppy belly.

*behp*


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives