2006-06-02

mass update @ 7:00 p.m.

Long update ahead, beware. Too lazy to break it up.

30 May
Argh. Going to be all alone this AM with no one to talk to because Man Unit is at work! A good thing, a very good thing, I tell you.

However. I am nervous as the proverbial kitty in the rocking chair factory. Have already downed one dose of immodium and am thinking on another. -sigh-


-much later-

And so it begins. I'm sitting in the airport awaiting the first leg of my trip. The delta connexions jet has just arrived, so we'll be leaving on time, it appears. It looked iffy this AM with serious thunderstorms darkening the skies, but as with the typical atypical MI summers, it's completely blown over and thankfully cooled off a bit. I was able to release my boss from the self guilt inducing act of dropping me off at the airport. She's been out sick since about Wednesday and I told her that I could get J to do it since she was now avaialible where she hadn't been before and I knew she'd be swamped coming back. She agreed, so now at least I'm free of that should this pan out.

Working out yesterday afternoon in the living room was like bikram-birkam? shit, I don't know-yoga with the heat. Even though it was the coolest room in the house temp-wise, no more than 10 minutes into it, I was glistening. Dripping by the pec flys. Shaking sweat from my face by the leg presses. Woo. But I'm gonna be svelte, I tell you. I was flexing for AS, all post-workout pumped and he was like "oh. oh my. woo."

Heh.

Passengers deplaning. I should prep. More later, perhaps from DC in the AM or ATL Wednesday night.


30 May 2006
Cincinnati/Kentucky border/airport
2:01 PM edt

Sometimes airports can be fun. Especially when I get to bus to the main terminal and get me a goddamn chick-fil-a sammich. I don�t ask for much, really I don�t. Usually this joy would be dampened by the fact that the return trip would be the god-awful reverse to the outlying terminal in the evening which is where I have almost always without fail gotten hung the fuck up for at least three hours. The best you can get for cheap in the B terminal is McD�s. Bleh. But this time the joy is not tempered because the travel agent goddess got me a direct flight back from ATL to MI. Yeah. If I ever meet her or have the good fortune to deal with her again, I will very warmly thank her for not shuffling me through the hell that is CIN/KY B terminal.

So far so, good. Uneventful first leg. On time. This one appears to be on time as well; the plane has arrived and the deplaning has commenced. And it goes on and on and on. Big ass plane: a boeing 737. I like this Delta load by zones thing. Keeps everybody�s butts in their seats, pretty much. But my zone was 2 in MI; fucking SEVEN here bound for DC. And I�m at the back of the goddamn plane, too; 21D. Obviously the word for today and possibly the week is �goddamn� and all variations thereof.

People watching. How sad is that when you look at your kid you realize that they�ve gotten the worst of you and your spouse�s features? Your pasty skin and bad teeth that need braces. His weak chin and stringy hair. Yet another reason not to breed. I waffle back and forth on the issue of course.

31 May 2006
Washington Nation/Reagan airport
3:50 pm

It�s going to be awhile before my flight leaves. Boarding pass says it doesn�t load until 5:35 or so. I had the option of being offered an earlier flight (which makes me hopeful for tomorrow in the event I need to nab an earlier flight) but declined because Trina won�t be there in case I can�t rent a car. Yet another annoyance: couldn�t catch an earlier flight because my credit sucks. �sigh-

So. I bet you want to know how the interview went, don�t you? I�m almost afraid to talk about it. I retrieved a voice mail from HH when I emerged from the firm's offices. Fucker wasn�t supposed to call until tomorrow, goddammit. He said he could tell how it went from the giggling. I told him that was just from the relief of the biggest part being over.
But I think they liked me. I think they really liked me. Tech Svcs guy used words like �integrity� to describe me. Said he could see me raising the bar. That I would set learning goals for myself before anyone else would. Hell, I barely remember what Sr. Manager chica said after that. She agreed, that�s all I really remember now. And that she asked me how long it would take me to move. I totally fucking forgot to ask about reimbursement paperwork.

Oy.

Somewhere over South Carolina
8:00 pm

We were stuck on the ground for an hour, reportedly due to excess air traffic. I knew that with the additional flying I was doing that at some point I�d be subject to a delay. It�s the way air travel karma goes.

So as usual, because I have too much time on my hands, my brain is starting to wake up. I told Man Unit that I felt numb�relieved, but numb. Now the numbness is wearing off and I�m flinging myself back into the tizzy that is OH GOD I WANT TO PLAN BUT CAN�T BECAUSE I DON�T HAVE A FIRM OFFER. Yeah. And worrying. Worrying that even with an offer, I won�t be able to do it. Wanting...needing to feel. And I can�t start that tsunami of feelings until I know.

Again I say: oy.


1 June 2006
Krystal restaurant on Cobb Dr. in Smyrna, GA

Damn. A free hot spot at the South's version of a White Castle, who knew?

I think I found a house.

I still don't know if I have a job.


1 June 2006
ATL Int�l Airport
6:52 PM

With any luck we�ll be boarding soon. I�m ready to be put down for good. This has been extremely energy-sapping, what with the interviews, the travel and then the house hunting today. I am flagging. And I have to go to work tomorrow. Shit. Take Man Unit to work. Wrangle a stupid WG3 call about marketing our products. Meet with E. Monthly grant call after that. Then I�ll probably pack it the fuck up and go home and get some goddamned shut eye. Am ready to partay, plan or mourn. Just something, please. Thank you.


Because I can no longer access my home email from work, I called up TKnockers and asked him to hack into my account to keep an eye on things today. Such a sweet man. It's not just anyone whom I'd entrust my account to. -smooches for him-

I was in the middle of my afternoon conference call when I saw his number pop up. I put the call on hold and picked him up.

Who's -director guy's name-?

he asked, idly.

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH IT'S DIRECTOR GUY! WHAT'D HE SAY??? WHAT'D HE SAY?

He wants to know if you're interested in an offer.

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! SEND IT TO ME! SENDITTOME NOW! QUICK!!

I switch back the conference call and the email pops up in my inbox.

Hi DMel,

Are you interested in an offer?

Cheers, Director Guy

I swear to god I got up and freaked out all over my office. Thank god the door was already closed. Then I sat back down and said:

Hi DG,

I am most definitely interested. You may reply to this email address or call at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanks much!

-DMel

He replied

HR Chica and I will be in touch. I'm busy with travel right now.

DG

After ripping several hunks of hair out, I said

Thanks, DG. Safe travels to you.

-dMel

They're going to make an offer. Now I get to twist myself into a frenzy all weekend over if it will be enough to move for and as TKnockers put it; "and you do that so well!".

I have little to no recollection to what was said on the rest of the call.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives