2006-05-26

list for the firmy firm @ 4:48 p.m.

Hello and welcome today's episode of Obsessive Theatre!

Pulled the following interview tip checklist from a local firm's site regarding interviewing for summer associate program (so it's strictly for law students but hey, there's no harm in applying it here, eh?):

* Research the Firm and your interviewers in advance.

Check. Glad to see it's one of the top ones and expected, as I've all but created a dossier for the folks who I'll be talking to.

* Ask questions even if you think you already know all you need to know from website research or your law school colleagues.

Check. Alas, I am sadly lacking when it comes to colleagues in the field, but I've milked every ounce of help that I can from the few that I do know.


Always have a question in reserve. Think longer-term in formulating your questions. Ask more meaningful questions than the obvious expected ones.

Check. I've six questions prepared in advance and will pen more from information I receive during the interviews themselves. Wanna see 'em? Of course you do!!!

1) Tell me how working at The Firmy Firm is different from working for other firms. Why did you choose to work at the firm?

2) Talk more about the �virtual team environment�.

3) Walk me through how a research package is constructed from question to delivery.

4) Is The Firmy Firm the type of firm where I can expect to have a long-term career? What is turnover like? How does The firmy Firm encourage professional growth of its research staff?

5) How is individual performance measured? By whom?

6) Do you have any concerns about me as a candidate?

7) How do you see me benefiting the firm?

* Seek advice from your law school classmates who have already been through the interviewing process.

Again, woefully lacking, but have tapped the few I have.


* Don't underestimate the importance of interactions with the Recruiting Coordinator and/or staff at the Firm.

I can't believe that this tip even has to be in here. Maybe it's because I've been in the workforce for awhile that I'm incredulous, but I thought everyone knew to never never never ever discount ANYone who's involved in the process or who you might have contct with, from the doorman to the CEO. I would have sent the director's assistant a thank you note if I'd had all her contact information.


* Talk with classmates and others who have worked at the Firm.

N/A.

* Be prepared to explain why you are interested in that particular firm and what will distinguish one firm from another for you.

The hard thing will be to not tell them the whole truth. I ache to come home. I hate working for my psycho non-profit. Etc., etc. As far as the distinguishing part...I have no idea and really don't think it's particularly applicable here.

* Participate in mock interviewing opportunities.

Check.

* Bring extra copies of your r�sum�, writing sample and transcript.

Check, except for the transcript of which there's a copy around here somewhere. Hadn't even thought about it, whoops. Again, not as applicable here, though.

* Know your r�sum� in detail. Be prepared to respond to questions.

Upside down and inside and out.

* Make sure there are no typographical errors in your r�sum� or cover letter.

Well if there were, it's too damned late now.

* Anticipate questions and your responses.

Check. Spent a few hours a few nights ago surfing queries and suggested answers. Having been an interviewer definitely helps.

* Relax.

HA. Anyway.

* Provide clear, concise, direct responses; do not equivocate.

Me? Equivocate? Nevah!

* Listen carefully and do not interrupt.

-groans- Oh, god, this is my weakness. I even use it as the answer to the ever popular weakness questions.

* Be articulate.

Check. -drools-

* Show enthusiasm and be personable.

I will blind them with my personality and enthusiasm.

* Maintain eye contact and have a firm hand shake.

-makes mental note not to crush hands-

* Be aware of body language (do not slump in your chair).

No slumping. Check.

* Dress conservatively and professionally.

-whines- Does this mean I can't wear Nick's CK fag boy tank? Bah.

* Try to distinguish yourself.

Easy. They have no idea I'm a brown person. That oughta stun 'em for two or three seconds.

* Do not oversell or undersell.

Happy medium. Check.

* Act like you want the job, even if you do not want it.

BWA-HA-HA-HA-HA!!

* Help avoid lulls in conversation by taking initiative in the interview. Give the interviewer a chance to get to know you, your background and your goals.

Hell, trying to shut me up will be a monumental task. They'll end up knowing more about me than they could have ever dreamed.

* Thank you notes or letters should be personalized rather than generic form notes or letters.

Check. I love me some hallmark.

* Do not be afraid to follow-up with further questions after the interview.

I have big fear. Gah.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives