2006-06-23

Adventures in Moving: Introduction Part 1 @ 7:21 p.m.

Today's introductory chapter deals mostly with Setting Shit Up.

I put out a call institute-wide for boxes yesterday I think it was. Within 10 minutes, my office was stuffed and I had a lead on a warehouse near my house to get as many as I could carry. I got more boxes just walking around the office talking to people today, then jetted to get the boxes from the warehouse afterwards.

Wednesday I tried to order my phone service. Was peevedpeevedpeeved to find out that my current carrier does NOT provide DSL at my address, so guess who gets to switch email addys again after four years of the same domain? -sigh- Went ahead and left the order active as I researched other options. Hooked up with BellSouth and placed the order last night and was inordinately pleased to note that no gigantic deposit was required. Was peeevedpeevedpeeved to find out today that the order was cancelled. Discovered it was because they could see the first order. Cancelled it, tried to order again and got cancelled because the first order hadn't removed from the system yet, so will have to wait until Monday to try again, I guess. -sighs- again.

Today I attempted to open a new bank account with a national bank. Huzzah, it worked! In 24-48 hours I'll be able to log on and have a look.

God bless the intarweb. Yet in some ways, it is a Bad Thing because anything I can't do electronically, I'm totally dragging my feet on. For example...

Have yet to even begin packing. I feel like I'm packing virtually at work what with all the mad rushing about I'm doing to ensure that if anything collapses after I'm gone, they can't blame me.

It is going to be SO WEIRD when I leave for the last time next Friday. How will I empty my head of all this after six and half years? I'm sure I will get all teary at the shindig they're throwing for me at the awesome Mexican restaurant Thursday night. Everybody always wants a speech and I'm just a big mushball when it comes to this sort of thing. Freaks people right out because I'm viewed as the Scary Amazon Black Womon with nerves of steel. Got all maudlin just thinking about this AM on the drive to work, thinking that the next Friday drive in would be it. Sort of, anyway. There's Very Serious Talk of keeping me on as a consultant/advisor not only during the transitional period, but also perhaps for some work in the new fiscal year.

For the record I looked fabulous today in dark brown linen capri pants, new slides (thanks Payless!) and a linen jacket. Got my hair flung by my infamous Hair Grrl on Wednesday, so a stretchy headband to cover the frizzies that signal the begnning of the end of my flat iron job completed the look. Sidebar:

The last time I went to my Hair Grrl, I mentioned off the cuff that I was thinking about a cut. Before I could even put the T on the word, HG stated "Layers." Hmm. Seems she's been dying to give me a new style - well, ANY style, really- for years, literally. So when I walked into the new chi chi salon she's at now on Wednesday, I said "here's you're going away gift from me: cut at will." She rolled her eyes and said "good. It's about damned time. I am SO tired of your triangle hair." Triangle hair. She called me triangle hair. So once I was out from under the dryer and flat ironed good and proper, I said "Now remember before you go all whackata whackata on me, 3 things: I do not own a curling iron. I do not own a flat iron. I do not own a blow dryer. So whatever you do to me, I have to be able to maintain it without all that shit." She sighs and rolls her eyes again. "Do you at least still use products??" My turn to sigh and roll. Of course. So off she goes. Snip. Snip. Snip. CUT. CUT. Snippitysnipsnipsnip. CUT CUT. ("ooops, you weren't supposed to see that last one.") And voila. Now I have awesome hair. Can't wait to see what it looks like once I wash out the flat tomorrow. end sidebar.

So yeah, I rawked the look today and everybody duly noted that I looked fabulous. And insinuated that I was prepping for the hotness that is the ATL. Which is not too terribly far from the truth.

Have I mentioned how deliriously pleased it makes me to remember that I don't have to go and gruntwork around the law liberry here anymore? Did I mention I quit last week? And that I think good ol' Mahbuba (my immediate supervisor) barely said a word to me on my last day when she was there? -shrug- With my luck, they'll put me to work doing the same damned thing in ATL because I'm low chick on the totem pole. But for now, let us rejoice in the fact that we will not have paper cuts and dry hands for a few weeks.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives