2006-04-20

well dayum @ 8:57 p.m.

Hi everybody. Apaprently my background check must have come back clean. Today's email exchanges went like this.


 (names changed to protect the innocent, guilty and insane)



Hi DMel,



I am wondering if you are still interested in our research needs in our Atlanta office. If so, we should explore with Dolly Rebu, our Senior Manager of Research and Education, when and where we will meet you. Would you prefer to go to an interview in Atlanta to look for a space to live as well?




nooooooooooooooooooooo, I'm not interested at ALL anymore. Completely forgot alllllllllll about ya. Mm-hmm... Wait, did he just say "look for a space to live"??????? YAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Greeetings PA good to hear from you!



I do indeed remain interested in joining the Atlanta office and would be delighted to meet with Ms. Rebu (in addition to domicile hunting). Please let me know how such a meeting should be arranged and I will proceed as appropriate.



Thanks so much,



DMel




Here is what I propose DMel. The supervisor for this position is Stan (Manager of Technical Services) in Washington, D.C. But, it has a close staff relationship with Dolly. I would like to have fly to Washington, DC and we'll get you an open jaw ticket to go to Atlanta from there.



Michigan/DC/Atlanta/Michigan



You can meet the Atlanta Business Director as well on your trip through town.



Let me know your thoughts and we'll look at dates.



Regards, PA




Open jaw????? All my little poverty stricken self is accustomed to hearing is one way, round trip or "oooo, can't afford that."



This definitely sounds like a comprehensive plan, PA and I would be more than agreeable to adjusting my schedule in whatever ways necessary. The week of May 1st looks best for me, but as I said, I can be flexible if necessary. Just let me know.



Thanks,

-DMel




We were thinking Wednesday, May 31 in DC; Thursday, June 1 in Atlanta; Friday on your own looking at apartments.

PA




Oh. In other words, cool yer jets, we have lives too. Got it. Hey, wait. He just told me they're financing my home search. WHAT DOES THIS MEAN??????? Keep it brief, keep yer cool, DON'T BLOW THIS.



That's actually perfect, I'm completely open those days.



-DMel




Great, I'll clear the dates with the Business Director of the

Atlanta office and start working on your travel with my assistant.

What's your preferred hotel of departure from MI?



Good night, PA




Now, be nice, you know what he meant. Apparently he's excited, too.



Excellent! If you meant airport, that would be Michigan

Airport. Can't wait to meet you! Let me know if there's anything else

you might need.




Yes, clearly, I shouldn't be here at 8pm!



Great, we'll work on the Michigan departure.

PA




And there you have it. I know that I still have to do the dance for all those people he rattled off up there, so I have a lot of person research to do. Can't slack. Can't think that this will be a cakewalk, because it won't be. Even if he's already decreed that I'm in, I want there to be no question if I'm qualified to be there or that I don't have the potential to be whatever he's told them I am.



Hang in there with me, y'all. It's gonna be a long month.

 


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives