2007-02-06

watch it burn @ 11:13 p.m.

Hi. been on hiatus for awhile, again. Trying to stay afloat at work and not let the bastards (and my hormones) get me down. Yesterday, Director Guy sent me an email. It was titled "Atlanta" and read simply:

How are things?

I stemmed my initial urge to start typing curse words, got up and wandered around the building a bit, worked for a while longer and then sat and thought about how to tell him the truth without sounding like the World's Biggest Fucking Whiner/Complainer. I typed the following response:

I'm working hard to remain upbeat and positive about my surroundings and my function here in the office. I will not lie and say that's an easy thing because it is not. This is a frightening and extremely uneasy atmosphere that makes being part of a virtual team difficult. Conversely, being part of a virtual team is advantageous because it helps me to know that my/our situation here is fairly unique and that I have the support of my virtual teammates. Some days are very bad. Some days are not. I simply work toward convincing myself that I am not old, cranky and set in my ways. I also have to accept that there are no easy solutions (if any) to creating a high percentage of successful interface with this very unique Firmy Firm Atlanta culture. In plain terms, I do my best to cultivate positive professional relationships where and when I can; the rest of the time I spend hunkered down, hoping that the sight of my mug of Skittles doesn't annoy a partner to the point where I would be...summarily removed.

Was that what you were asking or did I go off on an unwanted/warranted tangent?

I hit send and tried to forget about it. He replied almost immediately:

This is exactly what I wanted. I'm very shocked (and disappointed) in the reception for you and Co-worker Guy there, since it was first so well-received. I hope for a turn around soon.

*sigh* I know they can't do anything which is why I replied the way I did. Didn't want to mince words, but didn't want to sound like I needed a savior, either. Because I am well aware that office cultures like this are all but impossible to change. Basically what it boils down to is that the ATL location of this firm has not drunk the kool-aid; they all but sneer at the CEO's decrees about the unique sharing relationships that we have firm-wide. I have heard visiting partners ranting in their phones about how the lawyers here "suck" and are bastards who avoid meeting with them when they promised they would.

That's the reasonable rant.

The other side is like "why in the FUCK did you send me/us down/up here when you had NO FUCKING CLUE WHAT THIS OFFICE WAS LIKE????" I guess he tried to absolve himself of that when he mentioned that they'd been excited about it, but JESUS, you HADN'T EVEN DEFINED MY POSITION UNTIL AFTER I INTERVIEWED. *sigh* Now I know what the big gaps in the interviewing process was about. He was so intrigued by my qualifications that he jumped the gun and then had to talk to the ATL office and work it out after the fact.

Fuck me. I don't even want to talk about it anymore.

In good news, my former assistant called me today to tell me that AssFace had tendered her resignation and would be departing after only six months on the job March 5th. yes.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives