2007-07-21

possibilties @ 2:16 p.m.

Back on the ground after nearly a week in New Orleans at the law liberry conference. Not much to report. The conference itself was pretty much a bust, but I was able to fraternize with a cross-section of my co-workers for the first time ever (on my year anniversary no less) which in my eyes was more important. Also got to spend some quality time in discussion with my manager regarding our "problem children". It's good to know that she has as low a threshold for idiotic behavior as I do. She also confirmed, much to my delight, that the fact that I spent grunt time working in libraries while I was in school and in addition to my full time employment was a huge boon to my hiring.

In other news, I have been truly and honestly headhunted for the first time in my life. Times before when I got calls, it was merely because I was "the person who does that" at wherever I was working. That's not headhunting, that's cold-calling/canvassing. Last week, I got a call at home from HR for the company that's seeking. I'd never heard of them and of course went to the trusty web to look them up. Found their site, read a little but was still skeptical. Called them back while I was in NOLA on Monday. Turns out they picked my resume up off of car33rbuilder and are looking for the following (which I picked up while doing my customary background research):

Our primary sales tool is actually our 3700 page catalog and our Market Research Analysts play an integral role in determining the most effective way to distribute it to current and potential customers.

It�s harder than it sounds. Our Market Research Analysts are constantly investigating and learning information �sometimes about a specific customer�s needs, at other times about an entire industry. Curiosity is definitely an asset. You�ll be asked to learn our marketing philosophy and to implement it while identifying new opportunities, responding to current customers, and enhancing our marketing file with findings from your research. We have found that candidates with experience working in libraries and information science or previous experience or interest in non-profits, analytical research, museums or critical thinking are extremely well suited for this position. A bachelor�s degree (Master's or PhD is a plus) and at least 3 years of work experience is required.

Now, before I saw this, I was skeptical at best. I work for a law firm which means my salary is higher than than the garden variety info sci industry standard. Usually marketing research positions start at 20-30% less than I currently make now, which is why I usually don't look at them. But the more I find out about this company, the more I think that they might not have a problem matching at the very least, the question is would they, if I were interested, that is.

Anyway, the interview is Monday morning. We shall see.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives