2006-06-12

the info rolls @ 7:08 p.m.

Today wasn't as bad as I thought it might have been.

I gave notice to my supervisor, A., today. I suppose that there's no turning back, now, is there? June 30th and I'm done. I was coming from a meeting in another building and so was she, so we took off to smoke as we often do. She was yelling about whatever the latest issue was and then the talk died down. Beautiful day out by the "lake" and all I could do was stare at the ground. So I looked up and said

I can't think of good way to say this, so I'm just gonna come out and say it.

The way her head snapped up and she whipped around to stare at me, I can only imagine what it was she actually thought I was going to say, because she sounded almost relieved when I stumbled over the words that I'd accepted an offer of employment somewhere else.

Huh. So you're leaving then??

Yuh huh.

For where?

Atlanta.

YOU'RE MOVING????

And so on, so forth. But it went well. She congratulated me, said she was honestly happy for me and that she was glad I was going to get to do something that I actually wanted to do. And made noises that sounded like she wants out, too. So she went to tell her supervisor and the head HR chica. I get to tell the rest of the supervisors at our bi-weekly meeting tomorrow afternoon, then my staff as a whole the next day. Then the word's out after that, I guess.

The bitch of it is that A's boss is balking on involving herself in the initial telling of my funders. -sigh- I'm going to get to bear that burden all alone while she bats clean up afterwards. And this after I spent the better part of the day with them in meetings. Bah. I thought maybe Thursday when I see them again, but now with the info rolling out the way it is, I need to tell the funders ASAP before our schizoidal CEO gets wind of it and starts yapping about it to god and everyone after he's gotten over the fact that he was last to know. He has this habit of taking the credit when someone leaves the institute for bigger and better things, especially if it's a long time employee.

Yeah, DMel spent six years here at the institute and now she's headed for an international law firm. That's the kind of people we produce here!

Yeah, right. Didn't have anything at all to do with YOU, fuckface.

I'm-a go workout now. Gotta werk on getting my city body back. :)


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives