2006-12-12

stirrin' shit up @ 7:32 p.m.

hi. we've decided to finally come in from the cold and have our cable hooked up tomorrow. we dumped it almost a year ago as a cost-cutting measure and when we got here, I just never bothered and we've been surviving on netflix and the internets. but lately I've been kind of longingly glancing at the tv and wishing I could just sit down a surf a little. haven't seen a music video in months. no current CSI. never seen an episode of Big Love. etc., etc. So tomorrow between 9 and 1, the cable person is coming to Hook Us Up.

Man Unit is all squealy with excitement.

In other sort of work-related news, I am officially Stirring Shit Up. I have come to terms with the fact that I am officially bitter regarding my supposedly amicable separation from the institute. the shit that's going down there is just beyond stupid, ranging from the way my former assistant is being treated by she who is officially known as AssFace (my replacement) to the fact that they just discovered that they went waaaaaaaaaay over budget on the foundation project with an informational webcast designed to spend out said budget. Idiots. And just because I am in stirring up shit mode, here's the link to said webcast. If you speed up to the last 1/4 or so of it, you'll see AssFace and know that I am responsible for the creation of the products and every word about them that she reads off the teleprompter. Which means she has no idea what she's talking about.

The journal article that they summarily dumped me from after one of the national advisors told them he wanted me to be lead has not gone well. State FunderGuy dumped it in a health officer's lap who while is a very nice person cannot write for scholarly pubs to save her ass. She worked on it, then sent it to me for editing and also let me know she was putting my name on it since I'd already written half of it. One thing lead to another and Perfect Funder Lady ends up telling her basically that she's an idiot and that since a) the paper was optional and b) she doesn't have the intensive time that it will take to finish/fix it that it should be dumped. HO is like NO, HELLS NO, we've been working on this thing since JULY, fuck you. I just stand back and watch the madness, very glad in the fact that I am no longer directly involved.

It's amazing how people will open up to you once you're out of the hive. Had brunch with another national person who lives here on Saturday, and boy did she share, as did I. How is it that an evaluator who is interviewing peeps for their honest experiences with the funded project interviewed everyone from each state together? How on earth could she have expected honesty? I know from MI at least everyone was in head nod mode and probably the only people who were deemed okay to speak were PFL and SFG. Anyway, after our conversation she said she wished she'd had this info before because it would have made things happening before make a lot more sense and that it would also help going forward.

Choir isn't sucking. I don't know (or care) why he did it, but Director Guy shot a couple of solos my way at last week's rehearsal. One a verse in the offertory with the women's group for that following Sunday and one of the few star turns for mezzos/altos in Holst's krimmas extravaganza "Christmas Day" that we'll put on during midnight mass the 24th/25th. That night's just going to be nuts. Staff women have to show up at 8 PM to sing for the first mass. Then the rest of the group shows up for 10 and midnight. So I'll be rolling back home at roughly 1:30 AM or so Christmas morning. Only to turn around to go right back for a special 10 AM Christmas morning mass. Ah, the life of a staff singer.

The Sunday solo went well. He pointed out IN FRONT OF EVERYONE as we were dispersing from our pre-mass rehearsal that my final note was a hair flat...something about my vibrato. So all I'm focused on is fixing it when we get topside which I do. I look at him pointedly afterward and he gives me a thumbs up. In my brain I think "well of COURSE I fixed it, I'm a PROFESSIONAL, remember???" Organ Guy tells me afterward that it "was just gorgeous. your tone is just beautiful and you're a delight to work with. i hadn't paid attention to changing the segue to the organ solo since we skipped a verse but I knew you were a smart girl and you'd be okay." -beams-

Work is work. I'm deciding that I do not like this no structure structure deal the firm has going on, but I can live with it long enough to get the experience I need I think. As long as they don't fire me first. Don't know why they would, but the ways of the for-profit world, especially law firms are still a mystery to me. And I'm one paranoid bitch.


profile
letter
aim
guestbook
notes
design
diaryland
last time
forward
archives